Insatiable Hunger for Knowledge

I’ve always liked that phrase, “insatiable hunger for knowledge.” I remember seeing it somewhere in some book at some point in my life but I can’t seem to recall. Until then, I’d like to share my books-to-read list:

1. The Tipping Point

Author: Malcolm Gladwell.

“How little things can make a big difference.” After reading Blink and Outliers, I am compelled to read his very first international bestseller. His style is very inspirational and he is definitely a good storyteller.

2.  The Power of Kindness

Author: Piero Ferrucci

A book that teaches us how to be kind and lead a compassionate life. This book is certainly an unexpected find, as I would never imagine myself reading a book on kindness. I thought, as naive and shallow as I was, that since kindness is in our blood, we wouldn’t need to understand the different aspects of it. Turns out we need it after all. The concept of kindness is rather complicated but if we made an effort to learn about it through eighteen aspects of this particular trait, we would have the ability to maximize our success, love, and happiness.

3. Mastering Creative Anxiety

Author: Eric Maisel

Ooooh boy am I excited to read this or what? Being an artist myself, I have a serious problem dealing with procrastination, artist’s block, and much more. …..Yes, definitely excited.

4. How To Talk To Anyone – 92 Little Tricks for Big Success in Relationships

Author: Leil Lowndes

So I bought this book awhile ago, during my IB years. Never had the chance to read it due to my never ending workload but since I’m free, why not give it a go? It didn’t get a heap of positive reviews on Goodreads, but I’m sure this will help to an extent.

5. The Essential Jung

Author: C.G. Jung                Editor: Anthony Storr

I was first introduced to Carl Jung and his concepts in my grade 10 psychology/sociology/anthropology class. Now I’m just digging a bit deeper into his writings. :)

6. The Definitive Book of Body Language

Author: Allan & Barbara Pease

I was getting quite a bit ahead of myself when I tried this book out at the mere age of 14. This was a difficult read for someone who was not particularly passionate about reading at the time so it was left on the shelf, collecting dust in humble silence.

7. House and Philosophy: Everybody Lies

Author: Henry Jacoby        Series Editor: William Irwin

Despite it being a popular TV series, I’m not extremely interested in House. BUT this book sounds very amusing because as we all know, Dr. House is quite an uncanny dude.

_______

Now for some fun reads:

8. The Hunger Games

Author: Suzanne Collins

As I had lunch with a friend, this trilogy somehow came up in our conversation. Triggered my interest, officially on my list. I love action. :)

9. Don’t Breathe A Word

Author: Jennifer McMahon

Stumbled on it on Goodreads and the summary caught my eye. :D

10. The Ode Less Travelled

Author: Stephen Fry

I’ve always wanted to read a Stephen Fry book but just didn’t know what. Let us start on something fun with poetry.

_______

To think I will be making a trip to the book fair in a few days…

1 comment
  1. scandalousmuffin said:

    I bought a copy of House and Philosophy: Everybody Lies not too long ago off. It’s not as funny as I was hoping it would be, but it’s pretty interesting if you like philosophy.

Leave a Reply

